Last updated: 01-04-2014

Lead Vocals: Anne Stanton

Guitar: John Urquhart

Bass: Dave Holgate

Drums: Tony Russell (2)Sid Thompson


unplaced members: Barry Thornley


The Tempo’s were formed in May 1964 as the second resident group at the Samson & Hurcles in Tombland


Scottish born guitarist John Urquart had played with Walthamstow, Blue Dukes along with future Dave Clarke Five saxophonist Denis Payton in [band required] but moved to Norwich in [date required]


The band are an immediate success and remain at the club for three years before being offered the chance to move to London


The group were then offered a residency at Tiffanys in Bristol. John at this point remained in London with The Ronnie Smith Band until returning to Norwich in April 1968 to be with his Norwich born wife and joining The Ken Stevens Orchestra



New Norfolk group at Samson EEN 02/05/1964[ ](P)

Top London dance spot for the Tempo’s EEN H&N 06/03/1967[ ](P)

Back to Samson EEN H&N 8/4/1968[ ](P)

Tempo’s change EEN H&N 22/07/1968[ ](P)


(Russell - The Contours?)  <>  Rainbow People (Russell - Ken Stevens Orch) (Urquart - Ken Steven’s Orch)

Cover Title Studio Label YoR